Working To Enhance The Quality Of Life
In Baltimore And In Maryland.

You are here

Abell Award in Urban Policy

The Abell Award in Urban Policy is given annually to the student who authors the most compelling paper that analyzes a serious policy problem facing the City of Baltimore and proposes feasible solutions. The contest is intended to encourage fresh thinking about the challenges facing Baltimore City. The Selection Committee decides on the allocation of the $5,000 award.

The 2017 winners were Co-authors: George Zuo, PhD Candidate at the University of Maryland's Department of Economics, and Stephanie Zuo, 2017 M.D. from Johns Hopkins Medicine, for "Juvenile Crime and the Heat of the Moment: A proposal to pilot cognitive behavioral therapy interventions to reduce youth crime and recidivism in Baltimore City."

All full-time students from the following schools are eligible to enter:

  • Coppin State University
  • Goucher College
  • Johns Hopkins University
  • Loyola University Maryland
  • McDaniel College
  • Morgan State University
  • College of Notre Dame in Maryland
  • Towson University
  • University of Baltimore
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • UMBC
  • University of Maryland, College Park
  • Stevenson University  

Click here for more information on the 2017 Abell Award Competition.

Have questions? Click here.

Read the winning papers from prior years.

To learn more about previous Abell Award winners, click here.